Skip to main content

Voter Information and FAQs

Top of main content

Voter Information and FAQs

Eligible members can vote online, by mail, or at the Annual General and Special Meeting. You are eligible to vote if you met the following criteria on March 2, 2024:

  • You were 18 years or older.
  • You held the required minimum of five membership shares.
  • You were a member in good standing, i.e., not more than 90 days delinquent in any obligations to Coast Capital.

Regardless of the number of memberships you hold, you may cast only one ballot. If there are multiple members on a membership, each member must meet the required minimum of five membership shares requirement to be eligible to vote.

Voting packages containing ballots and information about the Board of Directors election, Ordinary and Special Resolutions and the Annual General and Special Meeting were mailed starting March 25, 2024 to all Coast Capital members eligible to vote. If you have multiple joint memberships, your election package will be mailed to an address provided on one of your joint memberships, which may not necessarily be your home address.

If you do not receive a ballot within four to five days of the mailing, or you need an additional ballot for another eligible voting member, or if your ballot has been lost or destroyed, you can ask for another ballot to be mailed to you (see “Where can I get another paper ballot?” below). Requests for replacement ballots must be made by no later than Wednesday, April 10, 2024.

Corporations and partnerships may also vote in the election. Any person authorized by the corporation or partnership may complete the ballot (business members are not able to vote online at this time and must vote using their paper ballot). Business member ballots must have all requested information completed to be considered valid.

Eligible voters can cast their vote easily and securely on our online voting platform. Note: online voting is available only for personal members and sole proprietors. Business members must use their paper ballot to vote.

To cast your vote, use your unique 13-digit control number found on your mailed ballot, and follow the instructions on the voting platform. You can also use your smartphone or tablet to submit your vote by hovering over the QR code on your ballot. We encourage you to vote online if you’re able to do so.

If you did not receive a ballot, or if you have lost or misplaced your ballot, please call Coast Capital’s Advice Centre at 1-888-517-7000, Mon-Sat, 8am-8pm PT/11am-11pm ET; Sun, 9am-5:30pm PT/12pm-8:30pm ET, and one will be mailed to you. Requests for replacement ballots must be made by no later than Wednesday, April 10, 2024.

Coast Capital has hired TSX Trust Company, a professional and independent vendor, to act as Coast Capital’s Returning Officer and Scrutineer to oversee the election and ballot counting process. All ballots are returned to TSX Trust Company and validated using the unique barcodes pre-assigned to voters. The paper ballots are scanned after the digital votes have been cross-referenced to eliminate any duplicate votes. After all ballots are scanned and digital votes tallied, the results are tabulated and provided to the Returning Officer.

Yes, both personal and business ballots need to be signed. If you are voting on behalf of a corporation, by filling in the ballot, you certify that you are authorized to vote on behalf of that corporation.

Voting in advance is available via the online voting platform until 5:00 pm PT/8:00 pm ET on Thursday, April 18, 2024. Completed mailed ballots must be received by our Returning Officer by April 18, 2024 at 5:00 pm PT/8:00 pm ET. Voting will also be available online and in person for those attending the Annual General and Special Meeting (AGSM) on April 25, 2024 with polls reopening for the Directors election, and Ordinary and Special Resolutions from 4:00 pm PT/7:00 pm ET to 4:45 pm PT/7:45 pm ET. Voting will also be available during the meeting on procedural matters only.

Members can only vote once. If both a digital vote and a paper vote are submitted during the advance voting period, the digital vote will be the one recorded and the duplicate paper vote will not be counted. If you vote during the advance voting period and again at the AGSM, either digitally or paper vote, the vote submitted at the AGSM will be recorded and the advance vote discarded.

If you’re a business member, online voting is not currently available to you so please mail your completed ballot in the business reply envelope provided.

The results of the election will be shared during our 2024 Annual General and Special Meeting (AGSM), and will afterwards be posted on our website.

Top of main content